Village layout

The village was built in the era of late Baroque (1700-1780). In the Baroque period, the construction of ideal cities was desired and rulers wanted and promoted. The city was seen as a rationally calculated functional, unified synthesis of the arts. considered. A characteristic feature is the regularity of the predominantly symmetrical-polygonal plan, often in continuation of Vitruvius' ideas. [Koch]

As a crown land directly subordinated to the emperor (1718 - 1778), the absolutism of the Habsburg monarchy became the the decisive motor of baroque landscape design in the new province of Banat. For the Habsburg monarchy, the region partly devastated by war and sparsely populated in some areas offered the Habsburg monarchy a welcome field for experimentation. Here, ideas could be realized without significant resistance and and, initially, without high costs, ideas could be realized that were not in line with absolutism, state centralism and the Viennese variety of mercantilism - cameralism. Whereas elsewhere it was primarily cities that were redesigned and remodeled, creating Baroque works of art, in the Banat the Habsburg rulers were able to create an entire landscape as a monument to themselves. The Theresian village foundations (1763-1772) were surveyed by engineers according to preconceived village plans and laid out without regard for the the natural shape of the terrain. Thus, the individual rows of streets did not subordinate themselves to the landscape, but followed the planned abstract geometric figure. The village plans were drawn up by provincial engineers, artillery officers and fortification architects on behalf of the responsible central office in Vienna or the provincial administration in Timisoara [Volkmann].

The village plan of Charlottenburg was created in Vienna by Ludwig Reischl: delineavit Ludovicus Reischl [Griselini, Teil 2, Tafel 1].

Plan from Griselini

There were 32 house sites planned with 4 access roads exactly aligned with the cardinal directions. The north and west streets have been preserved. The south street can be recognized by a larger house square. Even the 8 house squares between the streets are recognizable. The inner diameter is about 210 meters. That is 111 Viennese fathoms.

Griselini wrote in the year 1780: „I liked the layout of Charlottenburg, which forms a circle round a mulbery plantation, very much“.

On 5th of March, 1779 Johann Caspar Steube writes about the village in his third letter from Temeswar [Steube]:
„I would like to give you a chorograpie about this village, which may be unique in its kind. In the middle of the village there is a well with good water and with a roof. This well is surounded by a perfect circle of mulberies. Around this plantation there is a round treeless square and around this square there is again a round range of mulberies. Behind these trees the houses are also built in a circle. Each house has got a wide court with the necessary stables and barns, behind this court there is a garden and behind the garden there is a vineyard. None of the houses is an inch higher than the others and all of them have the same distance one from the other“.

One still can find today 34 old mulberry trees in the village. Some of them could have been planted during the settlement.
It has been told that during or after World War One a biplane landed on a field next to the village. The German pilot's attention was attracted by the round form of the village and he wanted to see who lives in that beautiful place.

Das Dorf entstand in der Epoche des Spätbarocks (1700-1780). Im Barock wurde der Bau idealer Städte von absolutistischen Herrschern gewollt und gefördert. Die Stadt wurde als rational durch kalkuliertes funktionelles, einheitliches Gesamtkunstwerk betrachtet. Ein Charakteristikum ist die Regelmäßigkeit des vorwiegend symmetrisch-polygonalen Plans, oft in Fortführung von Ideen Vitruvs. [Koch]

Als ein dem Kaiser unmittelbar unterstelltes Kronland (1718 - 1778), wurde der Absolutismus der Habsburger Monarchie zum entscheidenden Motor barocker Raumgestaltung in der neuen Provinz Banat. Für die Habsburger Monarchie bot das durch Krieg stark zerstörte und entvölkerte Banat ein willkommenes Experimentierfeld. Hier konnten ohne nennenswerte Widerstände und zunächst auch ohne hohe Kosten Ideen verwirklicht werden, die den Bereichen des Absolutismus, des staatlichen Zentralismus und der Wiener Spielart des Merkantilismus - dem Kameralismus - entsprangen. Wurden anderswo in erster Linie Städte umgestaltet und damit barocke Gesamtkunstwerke geschaffen, konnten sich die Habsburger Herrscher im Banat eine ganze Landschaft zum Denkmal setzen. Die theresianischen Dorfgründungen (1763-1772) wurden nach vorgefassten Dorfplänen von Ingenieuren vermessen und ohne Rücksicht auf die natürliche Geländeform angelegt. So ordneten sich die einzelnen Straßenzeilen nicht der Landschaft unter, sondern folgten der geplanten, abstrakten geometrischen Figur. Die Dorfpläne wurden von Provinzialingenieuren, Artillerieoffizieren und Fortifikationsbaumeistern im Auftrag der jeweils zuständigen Zentralstelle in Wien oder der Landesadministration in Temeswar angefertigt. [Volkmann]

Der Dorfplan Charlottenburgs wurde in Wien von Ludwig Reischl angefertigt: delineavit Ludovicus Reischl [Griselini, Teil 2, Tafel 1].
Es waren 32 Hausplätze geplant mit 4 Zufahrten genau nach den Himmelsrichtungen ausgerichtet. Die Nord und West Straßen sind erhalten geblieben. Die Südstraße ist an einem größeren Hausplatz zu erkennen. Selbst die 8 Hausplätze zwischen den Straßen sind noch erkennbar. Der Innendurchmesser beträgt ca. 210 m. Das sind ziemlich genau 111 Wiener Klafter!

Griselini [Griselini, Teil 1, Seite 187] schrieb im Jahre 1780: "Die Anlage von Charlottenburg, welches einen Kreis um eine, im Mittelpunkte befindliche Maulbeerpflanzung macht, will mir besonders gefallen". Der folgende Grundriß ist Griselinis Buch entnommen. Weitere alte Karten sind unter dem Menü Urbarium zu sehen.

Alter Ortsplan


Über diese Anlage schreibt Johann Caspar Steube am 5. März 1779 in seinem Dritten Brief aus Temeswar [Steube]:

"...Von dem...Dorfe, welches vielleicht einzig in seiner Art seyn dürfte, will ich dir eine Chorographie liefern. Im Mittelpunkte des Dorfs steht ein mit gutem Wasser und einem Dach versehener Brunnen, welcher von einer völlig zirkelförmigen Maulbeerpflanzung umgeben ist. Um gedachte Pflanzung gehet ein zirkelrunder baumleerer Platz und um denselben wieder eine Reihe Maulbeerbäume, hinter welchen die Häuser gleichfalls im Zirkel herumstehen. Jedes Haus hat einen weiten mit den nöthigen Ställen und Scheuern versehenen Hofraum, hinter demselben einen Garten, und hinter diesem einen Weinberg. Kein Haus ist einen Zoll höher als das andere, noch eins einen Schuh weiter entfernt als das andere; kurz, es herrscht in allem die schönste Symetrie: selbst die vier ins Dorf gehenden Wege haben einen gleichen Abstand von einander..."

Auch heute befinden sich noch 34 alte Maulbeerbäume im Dorf. Einige davon könnten bei der Ansiedlung gepflanzt worden sein.
Es wurde erzählt, dass während oder nach dem 1. Weltkrieg, ein Doppeldecker auf einem Feld in der Nähe landete. Dem Piloten, ein Deutscher, war das Dorf aufgefallen und er wollte sehen wer in dem schönen Ort lebt.